Happy Easter everyone!

Hopefully you are not in a chocolate coma..

Chocolate induced coma for Cordelia

This is a pretty rough unit plan, so please no harsh thoughts! It may come across as an explosion of tomato sauce but by writing down my unit plan or in this sense via blog, I’m giving myself suggestions/ideas for the assessment pieces but also for the unit.

Here it goes..

My somewhere: Year 1

Humanities and Social Sciences (HASS) unit name: Have not thought of it yet. I will get back to you.

Curriculum: Australian (ACARA) HASS 

Content descriptors/learning objectives

Constructing knowledge:

Differences and similarities between students’ daily lives and life during their parents’ and grandparents’ childhoods (ACHASSK030)

How the present, past and future are signified by terms indicating time, as well as by dates and changes that may have personal significance, such as birthdays, celebrations and seasons (ACHASSK029)

Transforming knowledge:

Pose questions about past and present objects, people, places and events(ACHASSI018)

Compare objects from the past with those from the present and consider how places have changed over time (ACHASSI023)

The criteria I have chosen is from the QCAA 

Length: 4 weeks

My ideas for the unit are as follows:

  • Comparing aspects of students lives to their family members through communication, play time and family traditions
  • Sequencing of events
  • Students develop an awareness of time
  • Role play
  • Theme: Students are time travelers?

Formative assessment could possibly be:

  • Learning journal
  • Rate understanding
  • Blog
  • Mind maps

Summative assessment:

They are just some ideas that I have and as I said this is just a draft.

Another student has also shared their idea for a unit plan, go take a look at Wilsonj2016. I love how Wilsonj2016 has made the students authors and their work is going to be presented to the foundation year students.

Until next time.